Five Bishops Earn USA South All-Conference Honors

Five Bishops Earn USA South All-Conference Honors

Fayetteville, N.C. - The USA South has released it postseason awards for men's tennis, with a total of 27 student-athletes being named to the league's All-Conference teams. Six-time defending champion North Carolina Wesleyan had five players garner accolades, led by First Team selections Mikhail Konnov and Peter Hviid.

For the sixth straight season, Wesleyan's men ran the table on league opponents during the regular season. Much of the team's success can be attributed to Konnov and Hviid, who combined for a 14-1 conference record playing predominantly the #1 and #2 singles positions. The two also teamed for a perfect 7-0 mark at top-seeded doubles, helping them secure the first First Team nods of their careers.

Joining them on the All-Conference squad as Second Team selections were freshman Elias Kerem and sophomore Eduardo Ugalde. Kerem, who was also named to the All-Sportsmanship team, posted a 13-1 overall singles record this season, while going a perfect 8-0 in USA South action. Ugalde was just as impressive with a team-best 16 singles wins, which included an undefeated 9-0 run versus league opponents. They, too, teamed for an unblemished 7-0 mark in conference doubles.

Rounding out Wesleyan's honorees was freshman Ben Tolhurst as a Third Team selection. Tolhurst went 7-1 in conference singles and 6-1 in league doubles, predominently manning the #5 and #3 positions, respectively.

Elsewhere around the league, Methodist University's Duncan Miller collected Player of the Year honors while his coach, Mike Bonnell, was named Coach of the Year. Rounding out the individual awards was Piedmont College's Matthew Metzger as Rookie of the Year.

To view the entire USA South All-Conference team in men's tennis, please visit