Bishops Capture USA South Tourney Championship

Bishops Capture USA South Tourney Championship

Rocky Mount, N.C. - The 2013 USA South Men's Tennis Tournament concluded with top-seeded N.C. Wesleyan taking home the championship. The Bishops swept 2nd-seeded Christopher Newport, 9-0, to earn their fifth consecutive tourney title and NCAA berth. At #1 singles, junior Robert Kjellberg went undefeated and earned MVP honors, setting the tournament record for fewest games lost at the top seed (4).

Kjellberg was joined on the All-Tournament team by teammates Artsiom Prostak, Johan Ljungdahl, Mikhail Konnov and Peter Hviid. The Bishops, who downed 8th-seeded Maryville 5-0 and 4th-seeded Piedmont 9-0 on their way to the championship, did not drop a set the entire tournament.

Said NCWC head coach Worth Richardson, "I'm so proud of the professionalism our guys showed this weekend, and I hope they made the school and city equally as proud. We have some tough tennis in front of us, but this young team is coming together and peaking at the right time."

With the win, Richardson has now won a USA South Tournament Championship as a head coach, assistant coach (CNU) and player (CNU). He and his 24th-ranked Bishops will next face off against  Emory and Johns Hopkins later in the month in preparation for NCAA regional play, which is set to begin on May 10.

Artsiom Prostak - N.C. Wesleyan
Johan Ljungdahl - N.C. Wesleyan
Mikhail Konnov - N.C. Wesleyan
Peter Hviid - N.C. Wesleyan
Joey Manilla - Christopher Newport
Robert Kjellberg - N.C. Wesleyan (MVP)