USA South Releases Postseason Baseball Awards

USA South Releases Postseason Baseball Awards

Fayetteville, N.C. - The USA South Athletic Conference has released its postseason awards for baseball with a total of 47 athletes earning recognition. North Carolina Wesleyan had a trio of Bishops garner accolades, led by sophomore Ciro Norzagaray and freshman Luis Palencia as Second Team selections. Sophomore Andrew Franklin rounded out Wesleyan's honorees as a member of the league's All-Sportsmanship team.

Norzagaray follows up his First Team selection at utility as a freshman with a Second Team nod at shortstop this season. Recently named his team's Most Valuable Player, the Mexico City native batted .346 in conference play this spring and led the team in homeruns (5), RBIs (24), and slugging percentage (.545). His five homeruns led all USA South players, while his .545 slugging percentage ranked second. He also posted a 1-0 record on the mound with one save.

A native of Barquisimeto, Venezuela, Palencia picks up his first All-Conference honor after leading the team with a .373 batting average this spring, which ranked second in the USA South. Additionally, his 23 stolen bases were tops in the conference, while he also led Wesleyan in hits (50) and runs scored (25).

Elsewhere around the league, Maryville's Nick Dean was named Player of the Year, and Huntingdon's Will Pharis collected Rookie of the Year honors. Ferrum teammates Jake Perkins and Dillon Weaver were named Pitcher of the Year and Rookie Pitcher of the Year, respectively, while their coach, Ryan Brittle, picked up Coach of the Year accolades.

To view the entire USA South All-Conference team in baseball, please visit